Weegee: It’s a crime to take photographs this good…

Photo by Weegee

I’ve always liked his photographs, Im not a sadist, although there is a derived pleasure when looking at images like this.  I guess that’s what makes Weegee such a great photographer.

There is an exhibition at the Michael Hoppen Gallery in London running until the 9th of January 2010.  I sure will have to make some time to go and see it this week.  I was a bit confused when I read at their web page that they are including photographs by Sergei Vasiliev and Stan Healy.  The first photographer that comes to my mind before these two is Enrique Mentinides.

photo by Enrique Mentinides

I ‘ve just erased a paragraph I wrote.  In it I spoke about how art is governed by the market, etc, etc… Anyway, my point was that it would be good to see an exhibition of Weegee and Mentinides side by side.

One response to “Weegee: It’s a crime to take photographs this good…

  1. Pingback: Twitted by keepyourcoins

Leave a Reply

